simpleunhookedliving

Prepare, Sustain, Thrive and Survive Simply

How to Make Tinctures

Making Tincture

It’s Easy to Make Tinctures

This article shows how I make tinctures. It includes information on tincture making and the herbs I used in this case. I am basically a guerrilla operator, meaning I use the resources at hand and I learn while I go, so you will see some of that reflected here.

I’m not a scientist, pharmacist, or herbalist. Everything I know is from my own experience, reports of other people’s experiences, and from reading what others assert. The more I read, the more interesting tidbits I find out.

What is a Tincture?
Tinctures are a concentrated liquid herbal extract made by combining fresh or dry herbs with alcohol or glycerin.

Why do I Make Tinctures?
After some 40 years of using herbs, I have found tinctures a quick and effective way to regain health balance and preserve herbs I pick. In fact, I’ve had such good luck with tinctures I don’t want to be caught without them. To me, these power packed medicinals are an essential part of thrival-survival preparedness.

TINCTURE MAKING BASICS

Tincture making is simply a process of combining herbs with an extractor (officially called a menstrum), like alcohol. I use an amount of herbs that can be covered with alcohol and easily shaken up. (Plan for dried herbs expanding when they get wet). Soak the herbs for up to six weeks and shake daily.

After that, I strain the tinctures into a sterilized glass container through a coffee filter or undyed muslin cloth placed into a wire strainer. I usually run a little extra alcohol or distilled water through the mash to get more of the good stuff out. I bottle the tinctures in sterilized dark colored glass bottles (cobalt blue, dark green, or amber), label, and store in a cool dark place. When I use 190-proof alcohol, I tone down the finished product by adding some distilled water because the alcohol is so strong. Tinctures to be used right away are put into smaller 2 oz. bottles with droppers and labeled.

MATERIALS

tincture supplies

Tincture making supplies

Phase One
Materia Medica (descriptions of what herbs do)
Herbs
Containers
Alcohol
Funnel
Thin Stick
Indelible Marker
Masking Tape
A Spoon or Scoop.

If you want to measure or weigh the herbs, you’ll need measuring cups or a scale. I just eyeball the quantities.

Funnel in Bottle

A Small Funnel is Handy

Phase Two
Coffee Filters
Undyed Muslin
Strainer
Sterile Jars
Distilled Water
Colored Bottles
Labeling Materials

COST
I bought herbs, powdered when available, in 4-oz. bags that ran anywhere from $3 to $8. The exception was ginseng, which is expensive, so I only got a 2-oz bag. The total herb bill was $125. I ended up using four 1750 milliliters of vodka at $20 each, and two 750 milliliters of 190-proof spirits at $18 each. The last expense will be the 2 oz. bottles with droppers, which will cost about $75. So, the whole project comes in at around $300. But you can get started in this venture with just $20 for a bottle of alcohol if you pick your own herbs and scrounge up some dark bottles to store the tincture in.

THE HERBS

Dried organic Herbs from Mountain Rose Herbs

The Herbs I Used

You can use fresh herbs, dried, or dried and powdered. I covered information on herb gathering and drying in a previous post. It’s almost February. The herbs I picked last year have been put to use long ago. All I have left from what I picked is some hops. The rest of the herbs I used for these tinctures were purchased in 4-oz bags from Mountain Rose Herbs. I like Mountain Rose Herbs because most of their products are organic and they have an easy to use Web site with lots of herbs to click on and read about.

CONTAINERS
I use glass. It’s always best to use colored glass or, if using clear containers, keep them out of the light. I’m willing to cheat and use clear bottles for tincturing. For bottling, I insist on dark colored glass bottles. Mountain Rose Herbs sells those as well, but I save about 50% by getting them at Specialy Bottle.

THE MENSTRUM

Alcohols for Making Tincture

Alcohols for Making Tincture

I use alcohol to make tinctures because I know it works and it’s readily available. On the other hand, the folks at TriLight Health make a good justification for using glycerine, and I wanted to try it. But after buying all the herbs and alcohol, I didn’t have any money left to get glycerine. Mountain Rose Herbs, where I get my herbs, sells glycerine for about $60 gallon.

For alcohol, people commonly use 190 proof grain alcohol, like Everclear, down to 100 proof vodka, which is 50% alcohol. Here are a few things I read about that. The higher “octane” alcohols are better to tincture herbs with high resin content, like hops. But, since some medicinals are released into alcohol and some in water, a 100-proof vodka does both. Some people say 100-proof is too low, but the Type A and Type O tinctures I made with it previously worked very well. For this tincture making project I used both 190-proof grain alcohol and 100 proof vodka.

HOPS

Dried Hops in Wine Bottle

Dried Hops in Wine Bottle

I used the grain alcohol to tincture the hops because hops are resinous. I poured a fifth of Grain Alcohol (Clear Spring brand rather than Everclear, since it’s $2 cheaper) into a wine bottle full of hops I picked and dried last summer. I poured enough in to cover the hops and screwed on the lid, applied  label with the date.

Hops, Lupulus strobula. Up to 80% of grains of hops is a bitter resin. There are also tannins, flavonoids, antioxidants, lupulone, and humulene. Hops are a distant relative of stinging nettles and cannabis, traditionally used to aid sleep and reduce libido. Be careful, hops have a side-effect of causing drinker’s droop,” or erectile dysfunction.

LIMONCELLO

Mking Limoncella

Making Limoncella

The next thing I tinctured was powdered lemon rind because I want to make Limoncello. It is made with fresh lemon zest (grated peel) infused in rectified spirits and mixed with simple syrup. For convenience I’m trying it with powdered lemon rind.

Dried Lemon Peel in Jar

Don’t Do It This Way

While doing this, I dumped all the dried lemon peel into the container and poured alcohol on top. I had to do quite a bit of stirring to get all the powder exposed to the alcohol. It’s much easier to gradually alternate parts of the powder and alcohol.

I also made the mistake of putting 4 oz of lemon rind into an 8 oz. container. I had to transfer it to a larger one because the powdered lemon rind expanded quite a bit after the alcohol was added.

ELDERBERRY

Elderberry, Sambucus nigra, has a long history in traditional European medicine for treating colds, coughs, fevers and flu. Elderberry has been claimed to fight infections and inflammation, aid weight loss, help diabetics, and improve the digestive system. It is a laxative, antifungal, diuretic, and treatment for nervous system disorders. Flavonoids from the extract have been proven to bind to H1N1 virions and, when bound, block the ability of the viruse to infect host cells.

Nerve Tonic Tincture

Nerve Tonic Tincture

NERVE TONIC TINCTURE

I decided to make a mild sedative with St. Johns Wort, Valerian, Skullcap, and Hops.

St Johns Wort, Hypericum perforatum, contains hypericin and related compounds, rutin, bitters, and tannins. It was traditionally used to promote emotional well-being. Clinical trials have shown positive results comparable to conventional treatments.

Valerian, Valeriana officinalis: Contains acetic acid, ascorbic acid, beta-ionone, calcium, caffeic acid, magnesium, manganese, quercitin, valeric acid. When combined with hops, valerian root has been approved by the German Commission E to support healthy sleep.

Skullcap, Scutellaria lateriflora: Constituents are volatile oil, scutellarin, bitter glycoside, tannin, fat, bitter principles, and sugar. Skullcap has been traditionally used to alleviate nervous tension and exhaustion and to promote emotional well being and relaxation during times of distress.

BLOOD TYPE IMMUNE BOOSTERS

ERYT herbal tincture

Blood Type O Herbs

A couple of years ago, I started experimenting with the Eat Right For Your Type diet, which asserts certain foods, herbs, and supplements are extremely beneficial for each blood type while others should be avoided. I decided to make tinctures based on the beneficial herbs. Not all of them were available when I made my order, so I just used what I could get. I’ve done this before and used the Type A tincture forseveral years, and my son has used the Type O, and we have both decided they are very helpful.

Most people don’t now their blood type, but if you do, and you want to make a tincture with herbs that are recommended for your particular blood type, just check out the Blood Type Herb Chart, then research the qualities of each herb. You can tincture each herb separately, then mix the extracts together later, or just tincture them all in the same container.

Blood type herb chart

I firmly believe that the time and/or money involved in making tinctures is a good investment for people who want to be more independent when it comes to their health care.

 

5 comments on “How to Make Tinctures

  1. Eddy Winko
    February 6, 2015

    Thanks, I’ll do a bit more research. I have the book already, eat right for your blood type, so I’m half way there 🙂

    • simpleunhookedliving
      February 6, 2015

      If you try tincture for your blood type please come back and say if it worked for you.

  2. Eddy Winko
    January 30, 2015

    I’ll have to give this a go, we already make our own alcohol and infuse with the various fruits we grow, so this is a natural progression. Forgive my ignorance, but what is the process, dosage for administration?

    • simpleunhookedliving
      January 30, 2015

      Hi Eddy,

      Glad somebody finds this interesting. For internal Type A tincture, I suck some up into the eye dropper in the bottle — which usually fills about half way — then I squirt it under my tongue. I usually do two of those once or twice a day. I’m sure it depends on each individual’s constitution, what they are treating, and how far along the illness has progressed. My experience so far: if I do this right at the onset of first symptoms of a cold, fly, ear ache, etc., the symptoms are gone within 24 hours. I think if you do a search for herbal tincture doses, you will probably get some more specific info.

Comments are closed.

Random Acts of Cannabis

Cannabis news and information

Mike's Look at Life

Photography, memoirs, random thoughts.

REYMEGA TRUTH

All things TRUTH all things REYMEGA

Breaking Out of the Box

My own personal art therapy journal

thescientista4

An innovative approach to Science, Philosophy, Politics and Economics

kathiortegadotcom

Where everyday is the start of a new adventure

Little Dragon Farm

Back to basics living for a new century

Microformulation Cosmetic Consulting

Cosmetic Formulator with Natural Products experience.

Where Are We Going?

Thoughts on the Future of Human Life

chriscondello

Green Thumbed Vagabond

Deep Green Permaculture

Connecting People to Nature, Empowering People to Live Sustainably

L.Y.L. Coop Farm

Growing the nation's food, one city at a time

Homeplace Earth

Education and Design for a Sustainable World

the human picture

what matters to one old man

Homesteadmark

Self sufficency, dignity and security.

Flyover-Press.com

Dedicated to freedom in our lifetimes

Tales from a Prepper

Tales from a Normal Prepper

The Stay-at-home Scientist

Science, Gardening, Work-Life Balance

